City Council

Thursday 9 January 2025

PRESENT:

Councillor Tuohy, in the Chair.

Councillor Murphy, Vice Chair.

Councillors Allen, Allison, Aspinall, Bannerman, Mrs Beer, Blight, Briars-Delve, Coker, Cresswell, Dann, Evans OBE, Finn, Freeman, Gilmour, Goslin, Haydon, Hendy, Krizanac, Laing, Lawson, Lugger, McCarty, McLay, McNamara, Moore, Morton, Ney, P.Nicholson, S.Nicholson, Noble, Penberthy, Penrose, Poyser, Raynsford, Reilly, Ricketts, M.Smith, Sproston, Steel, Stephens, Taylor, Tippetts and Wood.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Mrs Bridgeman, Cuddihee, Darcy, Dingle, Holloway, Loveridge, Lowry, Simpson, R.Smith, Stevens, Tofan and Ms Watkin.

The meeting started at 2.02 pm and finished at 3.23 pm.

Note: The full discussion can be viewed on the webcast of the City Council meeting at <u>www.plymouth.gov.uk</u>. At a future meeting, the Council will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

50. **Declarations of Interest**

No declarations of interest were made.

51. English Devolution White Paper

Councillor Tuohy (Lord Mayor) proposed that Standing Orders were suspended to remove the time limit on speeches made by group leaders. This was seconded by Councillor Murphy (Deputy Lord Mayor). Following a vote this was <u>agreed</u>.

For (42)

Councillors Allen, Allison, Aspinall, Bannerman, Mrs Beer, Blight, Briars-Delve, Coker, Cresswell, Dann, Evans OBE, Finn, Gilmour, Goslin, Haydon, Hendy, Krizanac, Laing, Lawson, Lugger, McLay, McNamara, Moore, Morton, Murphy, Ney, P.Nicholson, S.Nicholson, Noble, Penberthy, Penrose, Poyser, Raynsford, Reilly, Ricketts, M. Smith, Sproston, Steel, Stephens, Taylor, Tippetts and Wood.

Against (0)

Abstain (0)

Absent/Did Not Vote (3) Councillors Freeman, McCarty and Tuohy. Councillor Evans OBE (Leader of the Council) introduced the paper, which was seconded by Councillor Lugger.

Following contributions to debate from Councillors Nicholson, McLay, Ricketts, Dann, Allen, Wood, Finn, Laing and Raynsford, Council <u>agreed</u> to endorse the following:

- The Government had clearly stated that large Strategic Authorities led by directly elected mayors represented their preferred path for devolution, viewing this model as the most effective way to transfer power and resources from Westminster to local regions. In response to this clear policy direction, Plymouth City Council strongly advocates for the establishment of a South West Peninsula Mayoral Strategic Authority. This proposed authority would encompass the combined geography of Cornwall, Devon, Plymouth, and Torbay;
- The necessity to expand the Council's administrative boundaries to achieve the scale required for future sustainability. This had to be carefully balanced with preserving both Plymouth's distinctive identity and the identities of neighbouring communities. Work to develop appropriate options and a business case for this would now commence.

For (38)

Councillors Allen, Allison, Bannerman, Blight, Briars-Delve, Coker, Cresswell, Dann, Evans OBE, Freeman, Gilmour, Goslin, Haydon, Hendy, Krizanac, Laing, Lawson, Lugger, McCarty, McNamara, Moore, Morton, Murphy, Ney, P.Nicholson, S.Nicholson, Noble, Penberthy, Penrose, Raynsford, Reilly, M. Smith, Sproston, Steel, Stephens, Taylor, Tippetts and Wood.

Against (1) Councillor Ricketts.

Abstain (4) Councillors Mrs Beer, Finn, McLay and Poyser.

Absent/Did Not Vote (2) Councillors Aspinall and Tuohy.